We found no published cash affiliate offer for Duolingo's consumer app. Do not confuse an in-app referral offer, Duolingo for Schools or the Duolingo English Test Global Partner Network with a commission agreement for consumer subscriptions.
If you want to actually get paid for the language-app traffic you already drive, you'll need a different program. This post covers what Duolingo's three options do offer (and who they're for), plus the seven paying alternatives worth recommending to a Duolingo audience instead.
Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you sign up through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We have a commercial interest; the recommendations are our own.
The 30-second answer: what pays instead
If your readers learn French, Latin American Spanish, Castilian Spanish, Italian, or German: Copycat Cafe (50% lifetime commission for new affiliates on eligible subscription payments, including the first payment and renewals, while the customer keeps paying and the affiliate remains active and in good standing; 60-day browser referral window from link click to signup). For video-learning audiences: FluentU (20% lifetime; 30-day cookie). For podcast or audio audiences: Innovative Language (Pod101) with a lifetime cookie. For brand-conscious beginners: Babbel (up to €75 per app sale). The full breakdown of all seven programs is below.
Existing Copycat Cafe affiliates keep their agreed rates. Prior written offers and individually agreed overrides remain unchanged.
The browser referral window runs for 60 days from an affiliate-link click to signup, not to the first payment. The last explicit affiliate link used before signup takes priority. An eligible referral saved at signup stays with the account and is carried to a later checkout. Browser settings or content blockers can prevent a referral from being captured.
The three Duolingo "partner" programs that do exist
Three different offers can come up when researching Duolingo partnerships. Check the current in-app offer where available; the published Schools and English Test terms describe separate services:
| Program | What you earn | Who qualifies |
|---|---|---|
| In-app referral program | Check the offer displayed in your account; no cash commission established by this review | Where a referral offer is available in the account |
| Duolingo for Schools | Existing classroom management features (shutting down July 31, 2027; new accounts closed) | K-12 and higher-ed teachers (existing users only) |
| Duolingo English Test Global Partner Network | 10% discount coupon per referred test (10 coupons = 1 free test) | Study-abroad agencies, test-prep providers, admissions platforms, independent consultants |
1. In-app referral offers
An in-app referral offer is not the same as an affiliate contract. We have not verified one universal current reward, eligibility rule or cap across Duolingo accounts. Check the offer shown in your own app rather than relying on an older promise of free subscription weeks.
Do not assume an in-app reward can be converted to cash or that it establishes commission rights on Super, Max or Family subscriptions.
2. Duolingo for Schools (educator rewards)
Important: Duolingo for Schools is shutting down
Duolingo's published notice says Duolingo for Schools will sunset on July 31, 2027. New accounts and classrooms can no longer be created. Existing teachers and students can continue using the platform until then.
Duolingo for Schools is Duolingo's free classroom tool for K-12 and higher-ed teachers. Existing teachers can manage assignments and student participation within the limits of Duolingo's transition notice. Do not assume older classroom benefits remain unchanged.
It is genuinely useful if you teach a language and want to fold Duolingo into homework, until the announced sunset. It is not an affiliate program. Teachers earn classroom features, not cash, and there is no commission on any subscription a student or parent later buys. If you are a teacher with a side blog, this gives you a free product but no income, and after the shutdown, not even that.
3. The Duolingo English Test Global Partner Network
The English Test program should not be confused with a consumer-app affiliate program. The Duolingo English Test (DET) is a separate product from the language-learning app. It's an at-home English proficiency test used for admissions. Its official Global Partner Network is a separate referral system for eligible agents and trainers.
The numbers are real, but the eligibility is narrow. Members earn a 10% discount coupon for every test referred through their unique invite code, and every ten coupons automatically convert into one free test. There are five tiers, based on how many tests you refer per year: Starter (under 10 tests), Member (10–99), Partner (100–499), Gold Partner (500–1,999), and Platinum Partner (2,000+). Higher tiers add benefits like faster results for your students, bulk-purchase discounts up to 28%, a dedicated account manager, and expedited support.
Who this is NOT for
The Global Partner Network is built for study-abroad agencies, test-prep providers, admissions platforms, and independent consultants advising students. Having a blog, newsletter or YouTube audience alone does not establish eligibility; an applicant must meet the program's student-advising or placement criteria. And even when they do, the "commission" is paid in test discounts, not in dollars. That's great if you run a test-prep agency, useless if you're trying to earn a recurring income from your blog.
If you do run a test-prep agency or coach a steady stream of DET students, the Global Partner Network is worth applying to. If you do not work with students in those roles, check eligibility before investing in a campaign.
7 affiliate programs to recommend instead of Duolingo
Not every paying program fits every audience. If your readers want Duolingo’s short app-based lessons, check whether a longer self-study course or booked tutoring would actually suit them before recommending one. Here are the seven programs we'd actually recommend. (For a wider list including tutoring marketplaces and audio courses, see our full comparison of language learning affiliate programs.)
1. Copycat Cafe, for French, Latin American Spanish, Castilian Spanish, Italian, and German audiences
We list ourselves first because Copycat Cafe is built for a specific problem some Duolingo users describe: understanding more than they can say. We teach French, Latin American Spanish, Castilian Spanish, Italian, and German through copying. Learners listen and rebuild a practical line, say useful chunks aloud with focused feedback, then use them in low-pressure conversation. If your audience wants to hear a line, try saying it, get feedback and use it in conversation, Copycat is worth considering.
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Commission | 50% lifetime commission for new affiliates on eligible subscription payments, including the first payment and renewals, while the customer keeps paying and the affiliate remains active and in good standing |
| Browser referral window | 60 days from link click to signup, not first payment |
| Payment | Monthly via PayPal or bank transfer, $50 minimum |
| Languages | French, Latin American Spanish, Castilian Spanish, Italian, and German |
| Apply | copycatcafe.com/affiliates (direct program) |
What matters most in the table above is that you get the same commission rate on the first eligible payment and renewals. Other programs differ in renewal eligibility and time limits; compare their accepted terms. Copycat Cafe pays 50% lifetime commission for new affiliates on eligible subscription payments, including the first payment and renewals, while the customer keeps paying and the affiliate remains active and in good standing.
2. Mondly, for a broad multilingual app audience
Mondly supports affiliate partners through CJ and Avangate, but it does not clearly publish one universal current commission on its own accessible pages. A current FlexOffers subnetwork listing quotes 32% and a 120-day cookie for that channel; direct-network terms may differ.
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Universal commission | Not publicly stated by Mondly |
| FlexOffers channel | 32% and a 120-day cookie on its listing dated May 1, 2026 |
| Direct networks | CJ and Avangate |
| Official resources | Mondly affiliate kit |
Use the rate and attribution window in your accepted network contract. Our Mondly affiliate program guide explains why current search results quote conflicting rates.
3. Innovative Language (Pod101), for podcast-style learners
Innovative Language runs the FrenchPod101, SpanishPod101, JapanesePod101, and 31 other language-specific sites in the same family (some branded "Pod101," some "Class101"). The format is audio-first and structured around lessons hosted by native speakers. That's a strong fit if your audience listens to language podcasts on commutes or while running.
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Commission | 25% per sale |
| Cookie | Lifetime (never expires) |
| Payment | Confirm the payment method, schedule and minimum in the accepted program agreement |
| Languages | 34, each on its own site |
| Apply | innovativelanguage.com/about/affiliate-program (direct) |
The lifetime cookie is the rarest perk on this list. A lifetime cookie can allow a much later purchase to qualify, subject to the program’s rules and the referral remaining trackable. It is not a guarantee that every later purchase will be credited.
4. FluentU, for video-learning audiences
FluentU is a stronger active affiliate alternative for creators whose audiences learn through videos and interactive subtitles. Its official help page publishes a 20% commission for the referred user’s lifetime.
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Commission | 20% for the referred user’s lifetime |
| Cookie | 30 days |
| Payment | PayPal on the 14th of the month following the sale |
| Apply | FluentU’s official Refersion application |
Each website requires separate approval, and refunds or reversals are deducted. See our FluentU affiliate program guide for the current rules.
5. Mango Languages, for teachers, librarians, and library users
Mango may be relevant to an audience that includes teachers, librarians, or people familiar with it through a local library. Free library access does not itself imply a paid affiliate conversion. Its affiliate page describes 70+ languages and limits this commission offer to qualifying consumer plans, not institutional sales.
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Commission | 20% recurring on renewals (capped at $150 lifetime per customer) |
| Cookie | 60 days |
| Payment | Via Impact (standard network payout terms) |
| Languages | 70+ |
| Apply | mangolanguages.com/affiliates (via Impact) |
6. Lingoda, for learners ready to invest in live classes
Lingoda separates individual creators from traditional affiliates. Its creator Ambassador Program publicly offers €100 per validated new Flex or Sprint customer, while its traditional Everflow affiliate rate is not publicly stated.
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Creator ambassador reward | €100 per validated new Flex or Sprint customer |
| Traditional affiliate rate | Not publicly stated by Lingoda |
| Creator referral window | 90 days from link click to signup in the linked Ambassador Program terms; traditional-affiliate window not publicly stated |
| Creator application | Lingoda Ambassador Program |
Businesses and commercial publishers use a separate Everflow application. See our Lingoda affiliate and ambassador guide before choosing a route.
7. Babbel, for readers who want a name they know
Babbel is the alternative most of your readers have already heard of. Its familiar brand may be relevant to your audience; that does not establish a particular conversion rate. For application steps and current rates by network, see our Babbel affiliate program guide.
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Commission | Babbel's partner page advertises up to €75 per app sale and €80 for Live. Confirm current Live eligibility and renewal treatment in your accepted agreement; the public listing does not settle them. |
| Cookie | 30–45 days depending on network (45 on Impact and Perform[cb], 30 on FlexOffers) |
| Payment | Via Impact |
| Languages | 15 across the lesson catalog in Babbel's September 2025 Speak release; feature availability varies |
| Apply | Via Impact (or Perform[cb] for affiliates whose audience is in North or South America) |
Which alternative fits your audience?
If you only read one section of this post, read this one. Avoid choosing a program by headline commission alone. A lower headline rate may still be worthwhile when the product fits your audience. Compare your own conversions, refunds and retention rather than assuming a higher percentage means higher earnings.
| Your audience | Best program | Why it fits |
|---|---|---|
| Learning French, Latin American Spanish, Castilian Spanish, Italian, or German | Copycat Cafe | 50% lifetime commission for new affiliates on eligible subscription payments, including the first payment and renewals, while the customer keeps paying and the affiliate remains active and in good standing; 60-day browser referral window from link click to signup; built specifically for these course audiences |
| Wants a general Duolingo replacement | Mondly | Same gamified format, 41 languages, broad consumer brand |
| Podcast or audio learners | Innovative Language (Pod101) | Lifetime cookie, 34 language-specific sites |
| Gamification-focused | Memrise | No current affiliate program according to Memrise; do not rely on historical Awin payouts |
| Library or institutional | Mango Languages | 70+ languages; affiliate commission covers qualifying consumer plans, not institutional sales |
| Ready for live teachers | Lingoda | Flat per-order payouts on live online classes with native teachers |
| Brand-conscious beginners | Babbel | The recognized name your readers' parents have heard of |
| Test-prep agencies only | Duolingo English Test GPN | Discount coupons (not cash), valuable only if you prep large numbers of DET students |
Apply to the Copycat Cafe affiliate program
If your audience is learning French, Latin American Spanish, Castilian Spanish, Italian, or German, consider whether Copycat’s listen, copy and conversation activities fit what your readers want. As a new affiliate, you earn 50% lifetime commission on eligible subscription payments, including the first payment and renewals, while the customer keeps paying and the affiliate remains active and in good standing. The program has a 60-day browser referral window from link click to signup and a $50 minimum payout via PayPal or bank transfer. Selected affiliates may also be offered a one-to-one onboarding call to help position the product accurately for their audience.
If your audience is learning something else, the other six programs above are all worth applying to. If your audience wants to rehearse useful lines before trying them in conversation, Copycat Cafe is worth comparing.
Frequently asked questions
Does Duolingo have an affiliate program?
We found no published cash affiliate offer for Duolingo’s consumer app. Duolingo for Schools and the English Test Global Partner Network are separate services, not evidence of consumer-subscription commissions. Check any in-app referral offer directly in your account.
Does Duolingo Max have its own affiliate or referral program?
We found no published cash affiliate offer specifically for Duolingo Max. Check current in-app referral terms rather than assuming which subscription products qualify.
What affiliate programs should you recommend instead of Duolingo?
The right alternative depends on your audience. For French, Latin American Spanish, Castilian Spanish, Italian, and German learners, Copycat Cafe pays 50% lifetime commission for new affiliates on eligible subscription payments, including the first payment and renewals, while the customer keeps paying and the affiliate remains active and in good standing; the browser referral window is 60 days from link click to signup. For video-learning audiences, FluentU publishes 20% lifetime commission with a 30-day cookie. For podcast or audio audiences, Innovative Language (Pod101) has a lifetime cookie. For brand-conscious beginners, Babbel pays up to €75 per app sale through Impact.
How many free weeks of Super Duolingo do you get for referring a friend?
We have not verified one universal current reward or cap. Check the referral offer shown in your Duolingo account; do not rely on an older ten-week limit.
Can teachers earn money through Duolingo for Schools?
The published Schools service is a free classroom-management tool, not a cash affiliate offer. Duolingo says it will sunset on July 31, 2027, with no new accounts or classrooms accepted.
What is the Duolingo English Test Global Partner Network?
The Global Partner Network is a referral program for the Duolingo English Test, a separate product from the language-learning app. Members earn a 10% discount coupon for every test referred through their unique invite code, and every ten coupons convert into one free test. It's open to study-abroad agencies, test-prep providers, admissions platforms, and independent consultants advising students, not simply anyone with a content audience.
How do you sign up for Duolingo's partner programs?
Check any in-app referral offer in your account. Duolingo for Schools accepts no new accounts. Apply to the English Test Global Partner Network at gpn.duolingo.com if you meet its agency, test-preparation, admissions or student-advising criteria.
Who is Duolingo's biggest competitor?
It depends on the segment. Babbel, Rosetta Stone and Mondly are consumer alternatives worth comparing; this guide does not establish a revenue or download ranking. For learners whose specific frustration is speaking out loud, smaller speaking-first apps (including ours) compete on method rather than scale.
What is the highest-paying language learning affiliate program?
"Highest-paying" depends on the plan, the customer’s retention, and the time horizon. Babbel's partner page advertises up to €75 per app sale; confirm renewal eligibility in your agreement. Copycat Cafe pays 50% lifetime commission for new affiliates on eligible subscription payments, including the first payment and renewals, while the customer keeps paying and the affiliate remains active and in good standing. FluentU pays 20% for the referred user’s lifetime, and Innovative Language pays 25% per sale with a lifetime cookie. Compare live terms and product fit rather than relying on one headline rate. For a side-by-side, see our language learning affiliate programs guide.
Can affiliates earn from the Duolingo English Test?
Only indirectly, and only if they qualify for the Global Partner Network. Members earn discount coupons that convert into free tests after every ten referrals. That's useful if you run a test-prep agency or coach DET students, but it's not a cash commission and it's not open to general content creators.
Pricing and commission terms rechecked August 30, 2026. Affiliate program terms change frequently; check each program’s current page or approved network contract before relying on them.
Sources for the program details
- Babbel Partner Program — Babbel
- Babbel US program — Perform[cb]
- Babbel FlexOffers listing — FlexOffers
- Babbel Speak announcement September16 2025 — Babbel
- Current Copycat affiliate offer — Copycat Cafe
- FrenchPod101 affiliate benefits — Innovative Language
- FluentU program explanation — FluentU
- Mondly channel listing May 1 2026 — FlexOffers
- Referral Program Terms January 2025 — Lingoda
- Lingoda FlexOffers listing — FlexOffers